LOST STARS

LYRICS

Please don’t see just a boy caught up in dreams and fantasies1
Please see me reaching out for someone I can’t see2
Take my hand let’s see where we wake up tomorrow3
Best laid plans sometimes are just a one night stand4
I’d be damned Cupid’s demanding back his arrow5
So let’s get drunk on our tears6 and

God, tell us the reason youth is wasted on the young7
It’s hunting season and the lambs are on the run8
Searching for meaning
But are we all lost stars, trying to light up the dark?9

Who are we? Just a speck of dust within the galaxy?10
Woe is me, if we’re not careful turns into reality11
Don’t you dare let our best memories bring you sorrow12
Yesterday I saw a lion kiss a deer13
Turn the page maybe we’ll find a brand new ending14
Where we’re dancing in our tears and

God, tell us the reason youth is wasted on the young
It’s hunting season and the lambs are on the run
Searching for meaning
But are we all lost stars, trying to light up the dark?

I thought I saw you out there crying
I thought I heard you call my name
I thought I heard you out there crying
Just the same15

God, give us the reason youth is wasted on the young
It’s hunting season and this lamb is on the run
Searching for meaning
But are we all lost stars, trying to light up the dark?

I thought I saw you out there crying
I thought I heard you call my name
I thought I heard you out there crying

But are we all lost stars, trying to light up the dark?
But are we all lost stars, trying to light up the dark?16

MEANINGS

this song is not only about love, but also about identity. The insignificance and helplessness of being a human in this vast universe, being unable to maintain a relationship, and lacking the power to fight against destiny.

In the first verse and chorus, the speaker conveys a sense of uncertainty. People have to live for the moment because they are never sure when their relationship will end, and they’re always racing with the time, like the “lambs on the run.” They make great efforts to pursue the so-called perfect love, but in reality, everything is transient; they regret that they wasted time in their youth. The only option left for them is to keep losing and keep searching for themselves and the meaning of love.

In the second verse, the speaker further reveals human’s insignificance in the universe, comparing human to “a speck of dust within the galaxy,” since he cannot find the value of living on earth. “I saw a lion kiss a deer” symbolizes the doomed relationship. He falls in love either with the wrong person, or someone who hurts him deeply. At this point, the speaker no longer knows who he is, who he should be, and what he should pursue. He is like a lost star, trying to find his sense of self-worth in the vast, dark sky.adam levine – lost stars

Tinggalkan Balasan

